Directionless Ramblings by No One of Consequence

Pigeons

Trifecta contest entry. Heard about it from Edward Hotspur.

“Write a horror story in 33 words, without the words blood, scream, died, death, knife, gun, or kill. Good luck.”

The house was quiet, still. Years of dust coated the furniture. Everything was gray. Moonlight trickled through the patchy roof. She was alone, save a few pigeons. She knew she’d never be found.

Comments on: "Pigeons" (11)

  1. shiver!

    welcome to the challenge

  2. […] Buried Alive By Randomdeviations I’ve decided to join the Trifecta Weekend Writing Challenge that I heard about from Off on a Tangent. […]

  3. Creepy. I like it. It kind of reminds me of Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds.

  4. Sounds messy but peaceful to me. (Have I been a overly needed mom too long?)

    • Yeah. I don’t think it quite came across as I intended. The subject is meant to be abandoned, not in solitude. It’s my first try so, learning experience. I thought of something better after I was trying to sleep, but I already submitted this one.

  5. I imagined the ‘Saw’ movies – not to take away anything from you for comparing. You achieved the psychological torture mood- very powerful. Great job!

  6. Pigeons in the room makes this a true horror story, in my opinion!

  7. I agree. The pigeons did it for me. Welcome to Trifecta. You can submit up to three entries per prompt!

  8. Makes me think of someone abducted. Definitely,horrific

  9. Thanks so much for linking up with Trifecta this week. Hope to see you back on Monday (10 am Eastern) for the new prompt and some exciting news about the changes Trifecta is making to spread the word about our writing community.

Leave a Reply

